Freight Transport Advisory Council appoints 15 new members

Fifteen members have been appointed to the new NSW Freight Transport Advisory Council (FTAC), today, to be chaired by Duncan Gay.

The new council will replace the Freight and Logistics Advisory Council and the Road Freight Industry Council to represent the entire freight chain across different transport modes.

Gay served as the NSW Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight from 2011 to 2017 and was responsible for Roads and Maritime Services, NSW Centre for Road Safety and Port Authority of NSW and joint responsibility of Transport for NSW. In 2018, he was appointed Chairman of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator and joined the board of MU Group as Chairman.

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads, Sam Farraway, congratulated the members and incoming chair on their appointment.

“The new appointees come from a wide cross-section of industry, including road and rail bodies, intermodal operators, port representatives, couriers, retailers and producers,” he said. “Appointing Duncan as Chair to the new body will give the group a wealth of experience when interacting with Government and understanding policy.”

According to Farraway, the skills and experience of the new members will bring positive benefits to the freight sector.

“The wealth of industry leadership and experience on the council will mean better outcomes for the freight sector, which is expected to increase by 28 per cent to see 618 million tonnes moving across our state by 2036,” he said. “The new body will not only discuss freight and supply chain issues, but provide input into Government strategies, policies and projects.”

The Council will meet four times a year, with the first meeting to be held in June.

New appointees will remain on the Council for a term of two years.

The new appointees are:

  • Chair – Duncan Gay
  • Port of Newcastle – Craig Carmody
  • National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) – Warren Clark
  • Ron Crouch Transport – Geoffrey Crouch
  • Woolworths Group – Rick Dani
  • Qube – Paul Digney
  • Ports Australia – Michael Gallacher
  • Freight on Rail Group – Andrew Harding
  • Namoi Cotton – Allan Neil Johns
  • DHL – Leslie Logue
  • Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) – Paul Pulver
  • Monidale VGL – Scott Walker
  • Australasian Railway Association – Caroline Wilkie
  • Australian Logistics Council – Brad Williams
  • Road Freight NSW – Austin Vella